Toronto Mahavihara New Monastic Residence


Toronto Mahavihara Buddhist Temple, a vision of the early Sri Lankan pioneers in Toronto is revered by the World Buddhist community as the first Thēravāda Buddhist temple in Canada. Established in 1978 with humble beginnings initiated by about just 40 members, it has now grown into a large religious and cultural center at a serene location complete with modern amenities.
For nearly six decades, the temple and the Society have rendered religious, cultural and Buddhist educational services to our community. Our resident monks along with many a renowned monk from Sri Lanka and elsewhere have rendered a great service for the spiritual and moral upliftment of our devotees. Besides, it is effectively the sole cultural center for the Sri Lankan Buddhist community in and around Toronto East.

At its Annual General Meeting on 15th of December 2015, Toronto Mahavihara Society passed a resolution to build a new residence for its monks, to replace the current residence which is believed to be more than 100 years old. After going through a lengthy application process the City of Toronto approved the new building plan on 5th of March 2024. The proposed building comprises two stories and a basement designed with future needs in mind, the estimated cost of building it being $1.8 million. This is a milestone in the annals of Toronto Mahavihara having far reaching benefits for the several generations to come. We are addressing our members, friends and well-wishers at this critical juncture, to appeal for your generous monetary support to execute the project successfully and in time. Please visit our "Support"page to see how you can help us We are excited to announce that a tentative date has been fixed for "Foundation Laying Ceremony" as Sunday, 21st July 2024, the Esala Full Moon Day.

North Elevation South Elevation
Front Elevation     Rear Elevation
Ground Floor West Elevation
Ground Floor    Basement

Message from Most Venerable Ahangama Rathanasiri, Chief Abbot, Toronto Mahavihara Temple

3D Animation of New Building

    Construction Committee:
  1. Ven. Rathanasiri Thero - TMV President
  2. Sagara Weeratunga - Chairperson - Construction and Maintenance Committee
  3. Bandula Saputhanthiri - Secretary TMV Committee and Representation of TMV Committee
  4. Upali Weerapura - Website updates and Representation of TMV Committee
  5. Asoka Pinnaduwage - Asst. Treasurer and Representation of TMV Committee
  6. Thusith Weerasuriya - Fund raising lead and Representation of TMV Committee
  7. Saman Hadunduwa - Construction Support
  8. Kavishwara Hissella - Construction Support
  9. Upul de Silva - Construction Support
  10. Sumudu Hewamannage - Book keeping and Construction Cost Planning.
  11. Pubudu Ariyarathna - Verify Construction Layouts and Elevation
  12. Premaratne Pathirana - Civil Support

    Fundraising Committee:
  1. Chairperson: Asoka Pinnaduwage
  2. Sgara Weeratunge
  3. Tissa W. Arachchi
  4. Sriyani Rankothgedara
  5. Upul Hewage
  6. Vasantha Amarasinghe
  7. Chaminda Yapa
  8. Indrani Lokuliyana
  9. Shiroma Saputhanthiri
  10. Neela Abeywardane
  11. Visaka Jayakodi